New LED with rgb app control install

Discussion in 'Custom Interior and Exterior Lighting' started by MattsAvenger, May 5, 2018.

  1. MattsAvenger

    MattsAvenger New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Alabama
    I did the ' key dance ' to check codes and nothing showed up ... gonna go to Autozone this weekend and do a deeper check ...
     
  2. 5rebel9

    5rebel9 Active Member Site Supporter Level 1 Military

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    4,134
    Media:
    29
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1,017
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    NY 14777
    Charging system does not normally show codes thru the computer, unless using the dodge STAR scanner.

    A simple volt ohm meter will show how the charging system voltages are doing.
     
  3. MattsAvenger

    MattsAvenger New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Alabama
    Autozone can check the charging system and see what the alternator is putting out ... and then I can take the next step and chase the next goose lmao
     
  4. 5rebel9

    5rebel9 Active Member Site Supporter Level 1 Military

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    4,134
    Media:
    29
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1,017
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    NY 14777
    Just don't hit that GOOSE with your ride! They can do considerable damage, AND be leaving QUITE a MESS on it to deal with!...ROFL:D:D:rolleyes:
     
  5. MattsAvenger

    MattsAvenger New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Alabama
    Lmao it's ok if I do for now ... I have new bumper covers being painted right now ... so ... look out geese !!! Lmao:p:p:p
     
    5rebel9 likes this.
  6. DodgeThis

    DodgeThis Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    184
    Media:
    27
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    143
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Florida
    Is there a reason why you're not using a harness directly connected to the battery.. Also, depending on the number of electronics you have in your car, you may need to upgrade to a battery designed to support a lot of electronics. I'm having the same issue, as i have
    Led Low beam headlights correct? I've used LED headlights before i converted to projectors and hids -- all i used were resistors. The LEDs are flickering correct?
     
  7. DodgeThis

    DodgeThis Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    184
    Media:
    27
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    143
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Florida
    I like the decals on your car man.. you should upload a few pics..
     
    MattsAvenger likes this.
  8. MattsAvenger

    MattsAvenger New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Alabama
    I wouldn't call it flickering ... after a minute or two the lows go out and stay out until I reset the light switch and they goout again after a minute or two .. within that minute or two if I turn the high on the flash back and forth until the lows kick off then the highs work no problem
     
  9. DodgeThis

    DodgeThis Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    184
    Media:
    27
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    143
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Florida
    What brand LEDS are you running?
     
  10. MattsAvenger

    MattsAvenger New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Alabama
    XK Glow with app controlled rgb
     
  11. MattsAvenger

    MattsAvenger New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Alabama
    So... I had Autozone load test the alternator and it showed 14.4 ... I guess it's off to dodge to get star scanned
     
  12. 5rebel9

    5rebel9 Active Member Site Supporter Level 1 Military

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    4,134
    Media:
    29
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1,017
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    NY 14777
    May not be needed... Was just a thought, but you did not post of any other electrical concerns. Just know that the alternators on these 2.4's are rather "finicky".
    In re reading your posts, IMO you may have some fault in the aftermarket lighting components OR a weak headlamp relay that is part of the TIPM/ fuse panel. You could also check the wiring going into the bottom of the TIPM/fuse panel for good, clean connections or corroded wires.
     
  13. MattsAvenger

    MattsAvenger New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Alabama
    Where's the relay located at cuz I took thecar to a place that installs LEDs and they tried a different set of lights with a canbus then with a resistor then a combo of both and the lights didthe same thing ... would the star scan find the weak relay ??
    How do I test the relay ? Is the relay replaceable ??
    I'm about ready to yank these things out lol as well as some of my hair
     
  14. 5rebel9

    5rebel9 Active Member Site Supporter Level 1 Military

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    4,134
    Media:
    29
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1,017
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    NY 14777
    Don't know the exact location on the printed circuit board(soldered in just like the fuel pump relay is) So unless you know EXACTLY what it is and are good with PC soldering...NOT REPLACEABLE.
    Most folks here(myself included) don't go into that depth of work. We are owner/ enthusiasts just like you, some may have a little more mechanical/electrical knowledge than others. BUT definitely not factory engineers!...LOL;)
    Have you tried reinstalling the original lights as a test for actual wiring service? IF you have had the "pro's" install the other lights and they don't work either, then something is amiss.
     

Share This Page