Dodge Avenger Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings Owners:

I’m currently in the market for a new automobile, and I have been interested in the new Avenger. I have done quite a bit of homework myself on styles and features. I have narrowed my selection down to the:

AvengerR/T AWD 3.5 V6

I come here to get the “lowdown” on other aspects of this car that reviews and sales people just don’t know.

Background:
Alittle about myself, an automotive background, I currently drive a 1998 Durango 4x4 with 5.9L 360 Magnum. I bought this new off the floor when I graduated college and has been a fine automobile. It still is, I do not wish to part with it, however getting only 13.6MPG and only 1 week of fuel from the tank (Going just home and work only) is a bit tough. It’s going to be a hard sell for me to leave this truck and move to a new automobile. This is where you come in…. I want the good and the bad. Face it, every vehicle has something that needs improvement. So I’ll start with the questions, I hope you can provide the answers.

• AWD? The Avenger is FWD by default with the “Option” of AWD. Is this AWD actually ALWAYS on? Or is it a AWD on Demand feature where the rear wheels only apply drive power when a slip is detected by the FWD sensors?

• Serviceability? I am the son of a Mechanic Shop owner, I perform 99% of all my services, Including Oil/Filters/Transmission/Transfer Case/ Differentials, Plugs, Wires, and Fluid changes. Is the Avenger AWD self serviceable or will it require special tools to provide basic service (Special tools exclude anything you can buy from a local tool store)

• Suspension System: In today’s world so few cars and trucks have greasable fittings on their suspension parts. How does the Avenger rate?