Replaced ECM

Discussion in 'Dodge Avenger Electrical Problems and Questions' started by Dena, May 14, 2017.

  1. Dena

    Dena New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Atwater,ca
    I replace the ECM myself in my 08 advenger and now it will not start everyrhing comes on and stuff I am thinking its the anti theft wouls anyone one,know what to do
     
  2. FinnAvenger

    FinnAvenger Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Media:
    11
    Likes Received:
    65
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    I think it needs to be reprogrammed to fit your car and make it work properly.
     
  3. Dena

    Dena New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Atwater,ca
    It was shipped to me programmed
     
  4. 5rebel9

    5rebel9 Active Member Site Supporter Level 1 Military

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,250
    Media:
    29
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    696
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    NY 14777
    You could try disconnecting the NEGATIVE (black cable) at the strut tower in engine compartment for about 20 minutes, and then hook back up and give it a try. But WHY did you need to replace the ECM?
     
  5. FinnAvenger

    FinnAvenger Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Media:
    11
    Likes Received:
    65
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    All the wires checked? Do you get power or crank or neither?
     
  6. Dena

    Dena New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Atwater,ca
    ECM was replaced advice of my mechanic after certain sensors were replaced code was flat cam but it was not that. 2 mechanics advised the same. Have all power when turn key on. Just no crank like anti theft
     
  7. FinnAvenger

    FinnAvenger Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Media:
    11
    Likes Received:
    65
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Do you have second key? If so why not test that one for just in case.
    It does sound like fault with the anti theft.
    I'd also recommend you to disconnect the battery for some time like rebel mentioned. Wouldn't hurt.
     
  8. Dena

    Dena New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Atwater,ca
    I have no second key but am gonna disconnect the battery
     
  9. 5rebel9

    5rebel9 Active Member Site Supporter Level 1 Military

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,250
    Media:
    29
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    696
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    NY 14777
    Have not heard of any progress about the NO crank, Hope you got that under control. As for the ECM change, was just curious as not too often to hear of the need for that.I don't have all the code descriptions at ready reference, but have not heard of that code description before.Well wishes to you in your Challenge(R) in getting your Avenger running right!
     
  10. Dena

    Dena New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Atwater,ca
    The anti theft needs to be re-programmed my friend works at a shop so he is gonna call someone to do it
     
  11. 5rebel9

    5rebel9 Active Member Site Supporter Level 1 Military

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,250
    Media:
    29
    Albums:
    3
    Likes Received:
    696
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    NY 14777
    Yes it is getting to where ALL cars need to be "flashed" to recognize new components nowadays.Darned gov't regs. for "stolen parts" laws! Good luck to you, once again!
     

Share This Page