Dodge Avenger Forum banner

Silicone hoses?

3K views 11 replies 6 participants last post by  John316 
#1 ·
Having read about blown turbo hoses I was wondering, does anybody make a kit? Water and turbo would be good really, seems a shame not to have a matching set. I used to work in the industry making the hoses a good few years back now but a search on the web hasn't thrown up any obvious results.

#2 ·
This topic came up on another board and it was made very clear by a person in the diesel repair industry that the hoses on the turbo have to be of a very stringent makeup. Anything less would leave the possibility of a blown turbo and possibly engine. He has seen both and recommends sticking with either factory hoses or ones that meet factory spec.

#3 ·
From experience (gained within the industry) silicone hoses, if manufactured correctly using quality materials, will far out perform factory hoses. We tried to get some of ours burst tested but could not get anybody willing to take them far enough to find the burst pressure. They got up to 24,000psi using a hydraulic rig and wussed out. I would have far more confidence in a silicone hose (not made in China or Asia) than any factory hose to be honest.

Sadly I no longer have the contacts at Samco or SFS.

#4 ·
I have used auto silicone hoses (www.autosiliconehoses.com ) before and found their products to be of good quality. They are based in West Yorkshire and their phone no is 0844 8005199. They do a large variety of sizes and colours and clips as well . You can buy from the web site and they will post out to you.

#5 ·
Did I notice you have a silicone turbo hose on yours? If so, would you remember what you had to order, sizes etc? I need to look under the hood to see what's what yet really. What started off as a cheap family car has all of a sudden bit me and I now find myself going back in time to younger days of wanting to mod the nuts off this thing!

#6 ·